ramsar-convention for prelims
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Ramsar Convention

The Ramsar Convention is an international treaty for the conservation and sustainable use of wetlands. It is also known as the Convention on Wetlands. It is named after the city of Ramsar in Iran, where the Convention was signed in 1971.

Every three years, representatives of the Contracting Parties meet as the Conference of the Contracting Parties (COP), the policy-making organ of the Convention which adopts decisions (Resolutions and Recommendations) to administer the work of the Convention and improve the way in which the Parties are able to implement its objectives.

The Ramsar Convention works closely with six other organisations known as International Organization Partners (IOPs). These are:

  • Birdlife International
  • International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
  • International Water Management Institute (IWMI)
  • Wetlands International
  • WWF International
  • Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust (WWT)

These organizations support the work of the Convention by providing expert technical advice, helping implement field studies, and providing financial support. The IOPs also participate regularly as observers in all meetings of the Conference of the Parties and as full members of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel.

The 2nd of February each year is World Wetlands Day, marking the date of the adoption of the Convention on Wetlands on 2 February 1971. Established to raise awareness about the value of wetlands for humanity and the planet, WWD was celebrated for the first time in 1997 and has grown remarkably since then.


Sl No Name Location
1 Ashtamudi Wetland Kerala
2 Bhitarkanika Mangroves Orissa
3 Bhoj Wetland Madhya Pradesh
4 Chandra Taal Himachal Pradesh
5 Chilika Lake Orissa
6 Deepor Beel Assam
7 East Calcutta Wetlands West Bengal
8 Harike Wetland Punjab
9 Hokera Wetland Jammu and Kashmir
10 Kanjli Wetland Punjab
11 Keoladeo National Park Rajasthan
12 Kolleru Lake Andhra Pradesh
13 Loktak Lake Manipur
14 Nalsarovar Bird Sanctuary Gujarat
15 Point Calimere Wildlife and Bird Sanctuary Tamil Nadu
16 Pong Dam Lake Himachal Pradesh
17 Renuka Lake Himachal Pradesh
18 Ropar Wetland Punjab
19 Rudrasagar Lake Tripura
20 Sambhar Lake Rajasthan
21 Sasthamkotta Lake Kerala
22 Surinsar-Mansar Lakes Jammu and Kashmir
23 Tsomoriri Jammu and Kashmir
24 Upper Ganga River (Brijghat to Narora Stretch) Uttar Pradesh
25 Vembanad-Kol Wetland Kerala
26 Wular Lake Jammu and Kashmir



The Montreux Record

The Montreux Record is a register of wetland sites on the List of Wetlands of International Importance where changes in ecological character have occurred, are occurring, or are likely to occur as a result of technological developments, pollution or other human interference. It is maintained as part of the Ramsar List.

Current wetlands in Montreux Record Currently, two wetlands of India are in Montreux record , Keoladeo National Park, Rajasthan and Loktak Lake, Manipur.  Chilka lake was placed in the record but was later removed from it.